Welcome to the World of Samantha Skylar

North Georgia MountainsIn this captivating saga, Samantha Skylar experiences undying passion and endures one horrific act of brutality that sweeps her into the arms of the second most powerful man in the country. Samantha’s journey takes her from the poverty and close-minded attitudes of a tiny, coal-mining town in West Virginia, to the estate of one of Atlanta’s oldest and wealthiest families. This epic trilogy follows Samantha from the age of 14 to 40.

See What Readers Are Saying About the Series

Book One:

“A story of loss, hope, and perseverance that moved me.” – April Gilly for Readers’ Favorite

Sam’s Story: Book One (Skylar Trilogy) by Amy D. Crusan-Kramer is about 14-year-old Samantha Skylar from Boone County, West Virginia, who goes through a lot of life changing events in a very short time. The book starts out in the present and then goes back to the past and goes through some of the worst moments of Sam’s life. Sam is supported by her grandmother after she moves out of her mother’s house after her father’s death in a mining accident. After some teenage firsts, she finds herself making adult decisions with Phil, her boyfriend, and Sam starts to grow and become an adult before her time when disaster strikes. Just the first of many disasters for Sam, but she slowly learns to cope and heal.

Sam’s Story tore at my heartstrings. I cheered for Samantha when she made accomplishments, I cried for Samantha when disaster struck, and I cheered some more when Samantha started to heal and cope with everything that had gone wrong in her life. This is a story of loss, hope, and perseverance that moved me. But through the ups and downs you see how resilient a little girl can be, and how resilient humans in general can be, and how they can overcome some of the worst experiences of their lives. I am definitely looking forward to the next two books to see how Samantha continues to adapt to everything that happens in her life.

Book Two:

“…a book that you can truly enjoy and feel some connection with” -Kathryn Bennett for Readers’ Favorite

Sam’s Story: Book Two (Skylar Trilogy) by Amy D. Crusan-Kramer is the second book in the Saga of Samantha Skylar, who experiences throughout the trilogy both an intense passion and a terrible act of brutality. Samantha’s life goes from a small town in West Virginia, a coal mining town of closed minds and poverty, to a rich old estate in Atlanta that is owned by one of the oldest and wealthiest families of the area. As of 1987, Samantha is living a life she could only have dreamed of. She has a good job, lives in her own apartment, and has a best friend. Loving is not easy for Sam and when she has heart breaking loss it takes time to recover. In 1992 however, she becomes the personal assistant to the democratic candidate for vice president and life takes her on more turns that are both good and bad when someone from the past turns up.

While part of a trilogy and clearly well blended to be so, it could also stand alone as its own book because it is so wonderfully written. From cover to cover, this book draws you into its pages and shows you how far along Sam has come from the small coal mining town where she started out. You feel a kinship in getting to be part of her journey of growth and discovery. It is so easy to feel connected with Sam because we all follow some path of growing up and discovery and many would love to find themselves where Sam does, even with the bumps in the road that come along. If you want to read a book that you can truly enjoy and feel some connection with, while enjoying it as a whole, I would recommend Sam’s story.

Book Three:

“A thought provoking, well written saga that is definitely worth reading.” – Samantha Gregory for Readers’ Favorite

Sam’s Story: Book Three (Skylar Trilogy 3) by Amy D. Crusan-Kramer is the final part in the trilogy following the life of Samantha Skylar from the age of 14, living in a small Virginian town, to the age of 40 and working in the White House. Samantha is trying to deal with the fallout from being raped in the second book. She is having therapy and trying to get on with her life. She has left her friends behind and is now working in the White House with the Vice President. Her job is now her escape from the horror of her past. The story switches between Samantha’s viewpoint and her friend Chelsea, as well as several other key characters. Eventually she is forced to return to Atlanta and face her demons, and try to make things right with her friends.

Amy D. Crusan-Kramer doesn’t shy away from the emotional drama in Sam’s Story: Book Three (Skylar Trilogy 3). We see Sam at her best and at her worst throughout the book and her response to what happened to her is believable, as she goes through her sessions with Nancy. Her friends in Atlanta are dealing with her absence in different ways – anger, sadness and for Bastian, not caring much about himself and his appearance anymore. Amy really gets into the minds of her characters and draws you into their worlds. While it is Sam’s story ultimately, we learn so much about the people in her life, especially Chelsea. A thought provoking, well written saga that is definitely worth reading.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s